11 weeks today it will be Christmas Eve…5 things to do now to avoid a festive fluster!

IMG_4075

Yes, I am a self-confessed Christmas lover.  I love Christmas and all that the season brings (well, most of it anyway)!  I know that there are many who also love it but NOT TOO EARLY…and that’s fine with me!  I totally understand and feel a little that way myself – simply because I don’t want to spoil the excitement for myself by dragging it out and creating an anti-climax.  So I’m not going to go on about it too much but I just wanted to share 5 things that you may want to consider now to make the most of the festive season…

1.  Book tickets for a Christmas Panto’…the best seats on keys dates sell out early so if you’d like to go on Christmas Eve, Boxing Day or the like, then you might want to book tickets sooner rather than later.

2. Start researching a special visit to see the main man himself – Santa!  Once again, depending on where and when you’d like to see Santa, tickets do get booked up early.  Many of the main attractions will already be selling tickets via their websites and the best time slots for young children tend to go first.

3. Think about a festive food delivery.  I am a regular internet food shopper and I now hate it when I have to face the supermarkets myself, and there is no worse time for this than in the lead-up to Christmas.  I’ve tried it all – even a midnight dash when the supermarkets extend their hours a few days before Christmas, but for me nothing beats sitting on the sofa in front of the fire to browse at leisure and order my Christmas food shop…then the tinkle of the doorbell by a lovely lady or gent baring my festive feast.  On-line supermarkets open their Christmas week delivery slots in October and November so if the food shop is one thing you dread, start planning now.

4. When you are out and about and see little bits and bobs that the kids will love in their stockings, pick them up and stash them away in the bottom of your wardrobe.  I already have a gorgeous little collection of special things and I know that when December rolls around I will be able to enjoy the best bits of the season knowing this job is sorted!  It also helps to spread the cost!

5. Thinking of cutting back on gifts this year?…Then now is the time to suggest it to friends and family.  Some people (like me) start their Christmas shopping early so seize the day and mention it sooner rather than later to make it happen this year.  If you have a group of friends that you usually buy individual gifts for, you could suggest a Secret Santa where you all put one nice gift in (spending an agreed amount) and all take one nice gift out – this can save a fortune.  Alternative ideas include giving hand-made gifts, switching from lavish gifts to token gifts or making a charity donation instead of personal gift-giving.  If cost-cutting is on your mind this year, then now is the time to get talking to your loved ones.

I do hope that you have enjoyed my 5 plan-ahead suggestions and they haven’t left you in a festive fluster already.  After all, as I said, Christmas is 11 weeks off so no need to panic!

Leave a Reply

